Coaching / UKCC

UKCC logo

The UK Coaching Certificate provides a recognised stamp of quality coaching across all sport and across the UK. 

It has helped to raise the profile of equestrian coaching by establishing best practise coaching standards.  We now have a nationally recognised framework of qualifications for coach education developed by the UK’s most successful sports.
 
The introduction of UKCC has shifted the culture of coaching in the horse world.  A balance has been created between the traditional equestrian ‘what to coach’ skills (mainly focussing on the technical aspects of equestrianism) with greater emphasis on ‘how to coach’ skills (e.g. better two way communication, an understanding of different coaching and learning styles, continually reviewing, adapting and improving coaching sessions) leading to well planned effective coaching. 

UKCC makes it easier to identify the right coach for the right job from recreational enjoyment of equestrian sports to winning performance at the Olympics. 

The benefits UKCC can bring to you as an equestrian coach include:-

  • Effective, up to date ‘athlete-centred’ coaching skills.
  • A clearer pathway of opportunities for your personal and career development.
  • Access to best practice coaching standards and new coaching ideas developed across the UK by top sports coaches.
  • A greater understanding of high-quality world class coaching.
  • Access to expert advice and support on all aspects of coaching.
  • The satisfaction of helping your riders to achieve their goals
  • Encouragement to be the best coach that you can be.

The Pony Club currently offers the UKCC Generic Equestrian qualification at Levels 1, 2 and 3.

LEVELS FOR THE UKCC (EQUESTRIAN)

Level 1 The role of the Level 1 coach is to assist more qualified coaches, delivering aspects of coaching sessions, normally under direct supervision

Level 2 The role of the Level 2 coach is to prepare for, deliver and review coaching sessions. The technical equestrian knowledge required is around B Test level, and this coach will be able to plan a short series of linked lessons, e.g. for Camp or similar.  Candidates for level 2 courses must be able to demonstrate previous coaching experience.

Level 3 The role of the Level 3 coach is to plan, implement, analyse and revise annual coaching programmes This coach has a technical knowledge at around A Test level. This coach could also “mentor” Level 2 coaches who needed support.

Level 4 UKCC Level 4 coaches will be visionary and knowledgeable decision makers who display exceptional skills, behaviours and the highest professional and ethical standards. They will advance their own and others’ development; lead cutting-edge programmes, or a specialist part of a programme; and make a positive impact on sport performance and behaviour.

Course 145 to be held at Beaumont Grange Farm EC, Bottomdale Road, Slyne, Lancaster LA2 6BG
Day 1 - Wednesday 30th August 2017
Day 2 - Sunday 17th September 2017
Day 3 - Sunday 8th October 2017
Assessment - Sunday 29th October 2017
Contact - Jackie Minihane for more details.

Course 147 to be held at Pathhead EC, Forfar road, Kirriemuir,.DD8 5BY
Day 1 - Monday 18th September 2017
Day 2 - Tuesday 19th September 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 24th October 2017
Assessment - Tuesday 21st November 2017
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 148 to be held at Hayfield Equestrian Centre, Hazlehead, Park, Aberdeen, AB15 8BB.
Day 1 - Friday 27th October 2017
Day 2 - Friday 24th November 2017
Day 3 - Thursday 7th December 2017
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 149 to be held at Muirmill Equestrian Centre, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, KA1 5SH - *REVISED DATES*
Day 1 - Tuesday 7th November 2017
Day 2 - Tuesday 5th December 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 16th January 2018 (provisional)
Assessment - Tuesday 13th February 2018 (provisional)
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 150 to be held at Birr House Riding Centre, 81 Whinney Hill, Craigantlet, Dundonald,Co Down, BT16 1UA
Day 1 -Friday 8th September 2017
Day 2 - Saturday 9th September 2017
Day 3 -Friday 20th October 2017
Assessment - tbc

Course 151 to be held at Murton Equestrian Centre, The Bridle, Murton Village, Shiremoor, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE27 0QD
Day 1 - Friday 15th September 2017
Day 2 - Tuesday 31st October 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 19th December 2017
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Shelley wilson for more details.


To register you will be required to fill in the UKCC Application Forms which can be found on the application, registrations & further information tab.

Course 227 to be held at Muirmill Equestrian Centre, Symington, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, KA1 5SH *REVISED DATES*
Day 1 - Monday 9th October 2017
Day 2 - Tuesday 10th October 2017
Day 3 - Monday 6th November 2017
Day 4 - Monday 4th December 2017
Day 5 -Monday 15th January 2018 (provisional)
Assessment - Monday 12th February 2018 (provisional)
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 228 to be held at Hayfield Equestrian Centre, Hazlehead Park,Aberdeen, AB15 8BB*REVISED DATES*
Day 1 - Thursday 21st September 2017
Day 2 - Friday 22nd September 2017
Day 3 - Thursday 26th October 2017
Day 4 - Thursday 23rd November 2017
Day 5 - Tuesday 12th December 2017
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 229 to be held at Wittering Grange, Wansford, Peterborough, PE8 6NR
Day 1 - Wednesday 9th August 2017
Day 2 - Wednesday 30th August 2017
Day 3 - Wednesday 20th September 2017
Day 4 - Wednesday 11th October 2017
Assessment -Sundays 22nd & 29th October 2017
Contact - Linda Pearce for more details.

Course 232 to be held at Running Well EC, Warren Road, Rettenden, Chelmsford, Essex CM3 8DG
Day 1 - Monday 19th June 2017
Day 2 - Monday 17th July 2017
Day 3 - Monday 4th September 2017
Day 4 - Monday 2nd October 2017
Assessment - 16th October 2017 & 30th October 2017
Contact - Linda Pearce for more details.

Course 233 to be held at Birr House Riding Centre, 81 Whinney Hill, Craigantlet, Dundonald,Co Down, BT16 1UA
Day 1 - Wednesday 6th September 2017
Day 2 - Thursday 7th September 2017
Day 3 - Wednesday 18th October 2017
Day 4 - Thursday 19th October 2017
Assessment days - tbc
Contact - Debbie Osborough for more details.

Course 234 to be held at Murton Equestrian Centre, The Bridle, Murton Village, Shiremoor, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE27 0QD
Day 1 - Wednesday 13th September 2017
Day 2 - Thursday 14th September 2017
Day 3 - Monday 30th October 2017
Day 4 - Monday 18th December 2017
Assessment days - tbc
Contact - Shelley wilson for more details.

If you haven’t already done so, you will be required to fill in the UKCC Application Form.

Level 3 course dates

To be held at Onley Grounds Equestrian Centre, Willoughbury, Rugby CV23 8AJ
Day 1 Tuesday 26th September 2017
Day 2 Wednesday 27th September 2017

To be held at Moreton Morrell College, Warwick, Warwickshire CV35 9BL
Day 3 Wednesday 29th November 2017
Day 4 Thursday 30th November 2017


To be held at Moreton Morrell College, Warwick, Warwickshire CV35 9BL
Day 5 Tuesday 13th March 2018
Day 6 Wednesday 14th March 2018

To be held at Lincomb Equestrian, Lincomb, Worcestershire DY13 9RB
Day 7 Tuesday 15th May 2018
Day 8 Wednesday 16th May 2018

Venues will be in the Central region

To apply please submit the application form along with a video of you coaching.

If you would like further information on the course please contact the Jackie on 02476 698 305 or you can email jackie@pcuk.org


Level 3 Application Form
UKCC Level 3 Information

UKCC COSTSLEVEL 1LEVEL 2LEVEL 3
Cost of Training£350£550£1500
Cost of Assessment£100£150£250

Need more help? - Contact your local UKCC Coordinator:
Areas 1 & 19 (Scotland): Lea Allen leaarea1@hotmail.co.uk 07801 278785
Areas 2, 3 & 4 (North): Shelley Wilson shellw100@yahoo.co.uk 07921705174
Areas 6 & 8 (East): Linda Pearce lindajeanpearce@gmail.com 07970 542011
Areas 7 & 12 (Central): Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org 02476 698305
Areas 5 & 9: Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org 02476 698305
Areas 11 & 13 (South East): :Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org
  02476 698305 Area 13 - Sally Thurloway sallythurloway@hotmail.com 07552 626103.
Areas 10 & 18 Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.orgk 02476 698305
Areas 17 Debbie Osborough debbieosborough@aol.com 07719 606735
Areas 14, 15 & 16 Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org 07737 170732
Check which Area you are in here: www.pcuk.org/areas


UKCC EQL Registration Form
UKCC Level 1&2 Application Form
Level 3 Application Form
HorseScotland Candidate Application Procedure
Cancellation Policy.pdf
UKCC Candidate Requirements.pdf
Coaching Experience Log Book Pages

Please send all completed forms to the Pony Club office.

It should be noted that where a course date is not attended, without a valid reason for non attendance, an additional fee is payable to join an alternative course of the same level in order to do the course day(s) missed,.

Looking for funding to help with the cost of your coaching course?
The Funding Opportunities for Coaching Guide provides details about funding available to support coaches and coaching across England.  Produced by sports coach UK in partnership with the England Coaching Network the Guide is an interactive PDF that provides information on funding available in England to support coaching.  View it here: www.sportscoachuk.org/resource/funding-coaching-guide



Copyright ©2014 The Pony Club Registered Charity No: 1050146 | Incorporated as a Company Limited By Guarantee Registered in England No: 3072475