Coaching / UKCC

UKCC logo

The UK Coaching Certificate provides a recognised stamp of quality coaching across all sport and across the UK. 

It has helped to raise the profile of equestrian coaching by establishing best practise coaching standards.  We now have a nationally recognised framework of qualifications for coach education developed by the UK’s most successful sports.
 
The introduction of UKCC has shifted the culture of coaching in the horse world.  A balance has been created between the traditional equestrian ‘what to coach’ skills (mainly focussing on the technical aspects of equestrianism) with greater emphasis on ‘how to coach’ skills (e.g. better two way communication, an understanding of different coaching and learning styles, continually reviewing, adapting and improving coaching sessions) leading to well planned effective coaching. 

UKCC makes it easier to identify the right coach for the right job from recreational enjoyment of equestrian sports to winning performance at the Olympics. 

The benefits UKCC can bring to you as an equestrian coach include:-

  • Effective, up to date ‘athlete-centred’ coaching skills.
  • A clearer pathway of opportunities for your personal and career development.
  • Access to best practice coaching standards and new coaching ideas developed across the UK by top sports coaches.
  • A greater understanding of high-quality world class coaching.
  • Access to expert advice and support on all aspects of coaching.
  • The satisfaction of helping your riders to achieve their goals
  • Encouragement to be the best coach that you can be.

The Pony Club currently offers the UKCC Generic Equestrian qualification at Levels 1, 2 and 3.

LEVELS FOR THE UKCC (EQUESTRIAN)

Level 1 The role of the Level 1 coach is to assist more qualified coaches, delivering aspects of coaching sessions, normally under direct supervision

Level 2 The role of the Level 2 coach is to prepare for, deliver and review coaching sessions. The technical equestrian knowledge required is around B Test level, and this coach will be able to plan a short series of linked lessons, e.g. for Camp or similar.  Candidates for level 2 courses must be able to demonstrate previous coaching experience.

Level 3 The role of the Level 3 coach is to plan, implement, analyse and revise annual coaching programmes This coach has a technical knowledge at around A Test level. This coach could also “mentor” Level 2 coaches who needed support.

Level 4 UKCC Level 4 coaches will be visionary and knowledgeable decision makers who display exceptional skills, behaviours and the highest professional and ethical standards. They will advance their own and others’ development; lead cutting-edge programmes, or a specialist part of a programme; and make a positive impact on sport performance and behaviour.

Course 135 to be held at Foxes Riding School, Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham, Wirral CH66 8PF - POSTPONED
Day 1 - tbc
Day 2 - tbc
Day 3 - tbc
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Chrissie Mayes for more details.

Course 137 to be held at Birr House Riding Centre, 81 Whinney Hill, Craigantlet, Dundonald,Co Down, BT16 1UA *CANCELLED*
Day 1 - Monday 27th March 2017
Day 2 - Tuesday 28th March 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 25th April 2017
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Debbie Osborough for more details.

Course 138 to be held at Low fold Farm, Sunny Brow, Crook, DL15 0RL
Day 1 - Wednesday 5th April 2017
Day 2 - Thursday 6th April 2017
Day 3 - Monday 29th May 2017
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Shelley Wilson for more details.

Course 139 to be held at Bourton Vale Equestrian Centre, College Farm, Fosseway, Bourton on the Water, Cheltenham GL54 2HN.
Day 1 - Sunday 23rd April 2017
Day 2 - Monday 24th April 2017
Day 3 - Monday 22nd May 2017
Assessment - Sunday 18th June 2017
Contact - Jackie Minihane for more details.

Course 140 to be held at Hayfield Equestrian Centre, Hazlehead, Park, Aberdeen, AB15 8BB.*REVISED DATES*
Day 1 - Friday 21st April 2017
Day 2 - Friday 19th May 2017
Day 3 - Friday 2nd June 2017
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 141 to be held at Muirmill Equestrian Centre, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, KA1 5SH *REVISED DATES*
Day 1 - Monday 8th May 2017
Day 2 - Tuesday 9th May 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 27th June 2017
Assessment - TBC
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 142 to be held at Bryerley Springs, Bryerley Springs Farm, Galley Lane, Milton Keynes, MK17 9AB
Day 1 - Sunday 26th February 2017
Day 2 - Sunday 5th March 2017
Day 3 - Sunday 19th March 2017
Assessment - Sunday 30th April 2017
Contact - Jackie Minihane for more details.

Course 143 to be held at Hill Top EC, 180 high Street, Yelling, Cambs PE19 6SD
Day 1 - Monday 22nd May 2017
Day 2 - Monday 12th June 2017
Day 3 - Monday 10th July 2017
Assessment - 31st July 2017
Contact - Linda Pearce for more details.

Course 144 to be held at Castledyke Equestiran Centre, Castledyke Bank, Gipsey Bridge, Boston, PE22 7BW
Day 1 - Monday 15th May 2017
Day 2 - Monday 5th June 2017
Day 3 - Monday 26th June 2017
Assessment - 3rd July 2017
Contact - Linda Pearce for more details.

Course 145 to be held at Beaumont Grange Farm EC, Bottomdale Road, Slyne, Lancaster LA2 6BG
Day 1 - Wednesday 30th August 2017
Day 2 - Sunday 17th September 2017
Day 3 - Sunday 8th October 2017
Assessment - Sunday 29th October 2017
Contact - Jackie Minihane for more details.

Course 146 to be held at Bourton Vale Equestrian Centre, College Farm, Fosseway, Bourton on the Water, Cheltenham GL54 2HN.
Day 1 - Monday 10th April 2017
Day 2 - Sunday 21st May 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 6th June 2017
Assessment - Saturday 8th July 2017
Contact - Jackie Minihane for more details.

If you haven’t already done so, you will be required to fill in the UKCC Application Form.

Course 225 to be held at Birr House Riding Centre, 81 Whinney Hill, Craigantlet, Dundonald,Co Down, BT16 1UA
Day 1 - Wednesday 29th March 2017
Day 2 - Thursday 30th March 2017
Day 3 - Wednesday 26th April 2017
Day 4 - Thursday 27th April 2017
Assessment days - tbc
Contact - Debbie Osborough for more details.

Course 226 to be held at Low Fold Farm, Sunny Brow, Crook, DL15 0RL
Day 1 - Friday 7th April 2017
Day 2 - Saturday 8th April 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 30th May 2017
Day 4 - Wednesday 31st May 2017
Assessment days - tbc
Contact - Shelley Wilson for more details.

Course 227 to be held at Muirmill Equestrian Centre, Symington, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, KA1 5SH *REVISED DATES*
Day 1 - Monday 1st May 2017
Day 2 - Tuesday 2nd May 2017
Day 3 - Monday 5th June 2017
Day 4 - Tuesday 6th June 2017
Day 5 - Monday 26th June 2017
Assessment - TBC
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 228 to be held at Hayfield Equestrian Centre, Hazlehead Park,Aberdeen, AB15 8BB*REVISED DATES*
Day 1 - Wednesday 19th April 2017
Day 2 - Thursday 20th April 2017
Day 3 - Thursday 18th May 2017
Day 4 - Friday 9th June 2017
Assessment - tbc
Contact - Lea Allen for more details.

Course 229 to be held at Wittering Grange, Wansford, Peterborough, PE8 6NR
Day 1 - Wednesday 9th August 2017
Day 2 - Wednesday 30th August 2017
Day 3 - Wednesday 20th September 2017
Day 4 - Wednesday 11th October 2017
Assessment -Sundays 22nd & 29th October 2017
Contact - Linda Pearce for more details.

Course 230 to be held at Cranleigh School,GU6 8QQ
Day 1 - Sunday 9th April 2017
Day 2 - Monday 10th April 2017
Day 3 - Tuesday 30th May 2017
Day 4 - Wednesday 5th July 2017
Assessment -tbc
Contact - Sally Thurloway for more details.

Course 231 to be held at Stourport Riding Centre, Hartlebury Rd, Stourport-on-Severn DY13 9JD
Day 1 - Monday 15th May 2017
Day 2 - Monday 22nd May 2017
Day 3 - Monday 12th June 2017
Day 4 - Monday 19th June 2017
Assessment - Monday, 26th June 2017
Contact - Jackie Minihane for more details.

Course 232 to be held at Running Well EC, Warren Road, Rettenden, Chelmsford, Essex CM3 8DG
Day 1 - Monday 19th June 2017
Day 2 - Monday 17th July 2017
Day 3 - Monday 4th September 2017
Day 4 - Monday 2nd October 2017
Assessment - 16th October 2017 & 30th October 2017
Contact - Linda Pearce for more details.

If you haven’t already done so, you will be required to fill in the UKCC Application Form.

The Level 3 course consists of eight days training in four blocks of two days each, of which all eight must be attended, followed by two assessments on the same day.

Next course

TBC:

LEVEL 3 TASTER DAY

16th March 2017: Onley Grounds Equestrian Centre,  Willoughby, Rugby CV23 8AJ

For more information, email jackie@pcuk.org, or to reserve a place on the taster day, complete and return the Level 3 Application Form.  You will also need to provide coaching evidence of the required criteria, on a DVD or USB memory stick or Youtube link..

Please contact Jackie Minihane > for further details.
Level 3 Application Form
UKCC Level 3 Information

UKCC COSTSLEVEL 1LEVEL 2LEVEL 3
Cost of Training£350£550£1500
Cost of Assessment£100£150£250

Need more help? - Contact your local UKCC Coordinator:
Areas 1 & 19 (Scotland): Lea Allen leaarea1@hotmail.co.uk 07801 278785
Areas 2, 3 & 4 (North): Shelley Wilson shellw100@yahoo.co.uk 07921705174
Areas 6 & 8 (East): Linda Pearce lindajeanpearce@gmail.com 07970 542011
Areas 7 & 12 (Central): Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org 02476 698305
Area 9: Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org 02476 698305
Areas 11 & 13 (South East): :Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org
  02476 698305 Area 13 - Sally Thurloway sallythurloway@hotmail.com 07552 626103.
Area 5 Chrissie Mayes chrissiemayes@btinternet.com 0763108975
Areas 10 & 18 Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.orgk 02476 698305
Areas 17 Debbie Osborough debbieosborough@aol.com 07719 606735
Areas 14, 15 & 16 Jackie Minihane jackie@pcuk.org 07737 170732
Check which Area you are in here: www.pcuk.org/areas

UKCC EQL Registration Form
UKCC Level 1&2 Application Form.pdf
Level 3 Application Form
HorseScotland Candidate Application Procedure
Cancellation Policy.pdf
UKCC Candidate Requirements.pdf
Coaching Experience Log Book Pages

Please send all completed forms to the Pony Club office.

Looking for funding to help with the cost of your coaching course?
The Funding Opportunities for Coaching Guide provides details about funding available to support coaches and coaching across England.  Produced by sports coach UK in partnership with the England Coaching Network the Guide is an interactive PDF that provides information on funding available in England to support coaching.  View it here: www.sportscoachuk.org/resource/funding-coaching-guide



Copyright ©2014 The Pony Club Registered Charity No: 1050146 | Incorporated as a Company Limited By Guarantee Registered in England No: 3072475