the 2019 A Test Coaching Camp will be held at Lincomb Equestrian from June 24th-28th

YIAC yard

The A Test Coaching Camp is generously supported by the Worshipful Company of Loriners.

The A Test Coaching Camp (ATCC) is a scholarship course with the aim of educating young coaches to teach at all levels within The Pony Club. After a break of several years, the ATCC (then known as Young Instructors Advanced Course) was reinstated in 2008, ten members and former members of The Pony Club who had achieved their A Test attended.

To have achieved your A Test you will have had a long “Pony Club career” progressing from the basic D Test through all levels to reach the highest qualification. A Test holders are encouraged to go on to train future A Test candidates and it is hoped that many will assess the A Test in the future.

The ATCC is a rolling two year course, the second year helps to reinforce that coaches are supported by The Pony Club; they are not on their own! Coming back for a second year allows the students to share their ideas and experiences, give feedback on the previous year’s advice after taking it out into the Branches and answer any questions that have arisen.
This year the A Test Coaching Camp was held at Lincomb Equestrian in Worcestershire and from 24-28 June 2019.

As a training organisation, The Pony Club feels that producing high quality coaches is as important as producing quality riders. These students are the people who will teach future Pony Club Members and setting the standard early will help to maintain the high standards within The Pony Club.
For 2018 our resident A Test Coaching Camp Coaches, Vicki Macdonald BHSI, William Blane FBHS and Sarah MacDonald BHSI hosted the weeks training sessions.  Guest coaches and speakers included Russell Guire of Centaur Biomechanics, international show jumper and coach Matt Lanni, international eventer, coach and PC Mentor Marie Ryan, and physiotherapist Dr Tracey Cook.
Each student brings their own horse(s) or borrows one so that everyone has the opportunity to put into practice what they are learning and try out new techniques and exercises on each other.


A student riding at the ATCC

Ollie Martin - West Kent (Meopham)
Saskia Davies - Ledbury Hunt
Franki Jarvis - Essex Hunt North
Rebecca Williams - Cottesmore Hunt
Greta Mason - Burghley
Eleanor Simes - East Sussex
Emi Rowell - South Northumberland
Diana Bevan - Burghley
Charlotte-Elizabeth Barber - Blankney Hunt
Sophie Hilleard - Berkeley Hunt South
Anastasia Meadows - Atherstone Hunt
Eleanor Smale - Old Surrey & Burstow Hunt

The Tim Spencer Cox Memorial Trophy is presented to the student who has performed exceptionally throughout the course, and shown excellent potential as a Pony Club Coach and Examiner.

2008 - Ruth Walker
2009 - Robyn Waterson
2010 - Alice Greenwood
2011 - Sarah Parkes
2012 - Jean Smith
2013 - Hannah O’Kines
2014 - Jess Campbell
2015 - Amelia Sykes
2016 - Helen Berry
2017- Eleanor Smale
2018 - Rebecca Williams

Copyright ©2014 The Pony Club Registered Charity No: 1050146 | Incorporated as a Company Limited By Guarantee Registered in England No: 3072475